REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 17 BOARD OF EDUCATION - SPECIAL MEETING June 07, 2022

A special meeting of the Regional School District No. 17 Board of Education was held on June 7, 2022 in the Haddam-Killingworth High School Auditorium and via HK TV - Live Stream. Board of Education Chair, Suzanne Sack, called the meeting to order at 7:05 PM.

Members Present: Peter Sonski, Dr. Nelson Rivera, Corey Roberts, Jennifer Favalora, Hamish MacPhail, Brenda Buzzi, Shawna Goldfarb, Dr. Kathleen Zandi and Suzanne Sack

Members Absent: Joel D'Angelo & Lisa Connelly

Also Present: Superintendent of Schools, Jeffrey Wihbey (Via Remote), Director of Operations, John Mercier, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth High School, Donna Hayward, Assistant Principal of Haddam-Killingworth High School, Adam Apicella, Director of Student Services, Dr. Kris Lindsay, Student Services Coordinator, Tonya Gorgone, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, Dolores Bates, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, Eric Larson, Principal of Burr Elementary School, Brienne Whidden, Principal of Killingworth Elementary School, Dennis Reed, Curriculum Coordinator, Heather Rigatti

Visitors: Approximately 100

The Board meetings are videotaped and posted on the RSD17 Website under Board of Education, BOE Meeting Schedules & Minutes for public viewing. http://reflect-hktv.cablecast.tv/CablecastPublicSite/show/1227?channel=1

Call to Order/Opening of Meeting: *Board of Education Chair, Suzanne Sack, called the meeting to order at 7:05 PM.*

Recognition Ceremonies:

- **A.** Recognition of Haddam-Killingworth High School's Top Ten Students of the Class of 2022: Board Chair, Suzanne Sack, presented the Top Ten Students of the Class of 2022 as follows:
 - No. 10: Kyla Mazzotta of Haddam
 - No. 9: Oliva Wettemann of Killingworth
 - No. 8: Libby Riggs of Haddam
 - No. 7: Madeline Keithan-Resnick of Higganum
 - No. 6: Olvia Swanson of Higganum
 - No. 5: Alexis Wettemann of Killingworth
 - No. 4: Jacqueline Flaherty of Killingworth
 - No. 3: Yumiko Imai of Haddam
 - No. 2: Benjamin Williams of Haddam, Salutatorian
 - No. 1: Duncan Beauchamp of Higganum, Valedictorian

B. Recognition of District Retirees:

Board Chair, Suzanne Sack, presented the Recognition of District Retirees as follows:

- 1. Annie Atwood, of Burr District Elementary School, presented by Principal Brienne Whidden
- 2. Lisa Castlevetro, of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, presented by Principal Dolores Bates
- 3. Janet Kohm, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna Hayward
- 4. Carmella Kowalewski, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, presented by Principal Eric Larson
- 5. Laurie Kumnick, Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 6. Jean Nolet, of Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 7. Nancy McGee, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna Hayward
- 8. Alan Rice, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna Hayward
- 9. Susan Craffey, of Haddam Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna Hayward

C. Recognition of Staff Members of the Year:

- 1. Pamela Quinley, of Burr Elementary School, presented by Principal Breinne Whidden
- 2. Megan Jenkins, of Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 3. Carolyn Armstrong, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School presented Principal Eric Larson
- 4. Theresa Shimoda, of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, presented by Principal Dolores Bates
- 5. Laura Wade, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna Hayward
- 6. Denis Recchia was named District Staff Member of the Year, presented by John Mercier

D. Recognition of District Teachers of the Year:

- 1. Rebecca Harkin, of Burr Elementary School, presented by Principal Brienne Whidden
- 2. Donna Jones, of Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 3. Heather Barse, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, presented by Principal Eric Larson
- 4. Leanne Honious, of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, presented by Principal Dolores Bates
- 5. Ryan Kish, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, was named Regional School District No. 17 Teacher of the Year, presented by Principal Donna Hayward.

Adjournment:

Board of Education Chair, Suzanne Sack, called for the meeting to adjourn at 8:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Jamie Sciascia Board Clerk

Approval:

Date:

Joel D'Angelo, Secretary