REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 17 BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES June 6, 2023

A meeting of the Regional School District No. 17 Board of Education was held on June 6, 2023, in the Haddam-Killingworth High School Auditorium.

Board Member Attendance:

Board Member	Present	Absent	Board Member	Present	Absent
Prem Aithal	Х		Dr. Nelson Rivera	х	
Lisa Connelly	х		Corey Roberts		х
Dr. Joel D'Angelo		Х	Peter Sonski	Х	
Jennifer Favalora	х		Dr. Kathleen Zandi (remote)	х	
Shawna Goldfarb	х		Suzanne Sack	Х	
Hamish MacPhail		х			

Also Present: Superintendent of Schools Jeffrey Wihbey, Assistant Superintendent Jennifer Miller, Director of Fiscal Operations David Solin, Board Administrator Sarah Kaiser, Director of Operations John Mercier, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth High School Donna Hayward, Director of Student Services, Dr. Kris Lindsay, Student Services Coordinators, Becky Templeton and Tonya Gorgone, Assistant Principal of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, Heather Persson, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School Eric Larson, Principal of Burr Elementary School Brienne Whidden, Principal of Killingworth Elementary School Dennis Reed, Curriculum Coordinators Heather Rigatti, and Jennifer Beermuender

Visitors: Approximately 70

The Board meetings are videotaped and posted on the RSD17 Website under the Board of

Education, BOE Meeting Schedules & Minutes for public viewing.

http://reflect-hktv.cablecast.tv/CablecastPublicSite/show/1606?channel=1

Call to Order/Opening of Meeting

Board of Education Chair Suzanne Sack called the meeting to order at 7:06 pm.

Sophomore, Ava Loughlin, sang the National Anthem.

Recognition Ceremonies:

A. Recognition of Haddam-Killingworth High School's Top Ten Students of the Class of 2023

Superintendent Wihbey and Principal Hayward presented the Top Ten Students of the Class of 2023 as follows:

- No. 10: Julia Favalora
- No. 9: Paige Corcoran
- No. 8: Catherine Haas
- No. 7: Grace McKenzie
- No. 6: Caroline Conte
- No. 5: Laura Strick
- No. 4: Kaleigh Bodak
- No. 3: Sasha Berardino
- No. 2: Kristen Thebeau
- No. 1: Abigail Jones

B. Recognition of District Retirees

- 1. Patricia McCay presented by Principal Eric Larson
- 2. Thomas Mrozowski presented by Director John Mercier
- 3. Michael Reilly presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 4. Lorelei Casey presented by Superintendent Wihbey

C. Recognition of Staff Members of the Year

- 1. BES Staff Member of the Year Judith Devenney, presented by Principal Whidden
- 2. KES Staff Member of the Year Jennifer Maio, presented by Principal Reed
- 3. HKHS Staff Member of the Year Rosemary Schlosser, presented by Principal Hayward
- 4. HKMS Staff Member of the Year Debra Cumpstone, presented by Interim Principal Harrison
- 5. HKIS Staff Member of the Year Katie Gebert, presented by Principal Eric Larson
- 6. District Staff Member of the Year Brianna Hill, presented by Superintendent Wihbey

D. Recognition of District Teachers of the Year

- 1. BES Teacher of the Year Erin Edwards, presented by Principal Whidden
- 2. KES Teacher of the Year Dana Kalksma, presented by Principal Reed
- 3. HKHS Teacher of the Year Christine Ahearn, presented by Principal Hayward
- 4. HKMS Teacher of the Year Kristin Porriello, presented by Interim Principal Harrison
- 5. HKIS/RSD 17 Teacher of the Year Margaret Amaio, presented by Principal Larson

The meeting adjourned at 8:09 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Sarah Kaiser Administrative Assistant to the Board of Education

Approval: _____Date:

Joel D'Angelo, Secretary