## REGIONAL SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 17 BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING June 09, 2020

A special meeting of the Regional School District No. 17 Board of Education was held on June 9, 2020 via Google Hangouts Meet Video Conference (Live Stream). Board of Education Chair, Suzanne Sack, called the meeting to order at 5:32 PM.

Members Present: Peter Sonski, Dr. Nelson Rivera, Jennifer Favalora, Eileen Blewett, Joanne Nesti, Brenda Buzzi, Kathleen Zandi and Suzanne Sack

Members Absent: Shawna Goldfarb & Joel D'Angelo

Also Present: Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Holly Hageman, Director of Finance, Ann Adriani, Director of Operations, John Mercier, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth High School, Donna Hayward, Assistant Principal of Haddam-Killingworth High School, Adam Apicella, Director of Student Services, Dr. Kris Lindsay, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, Dolores Bates, Principal of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, Eric Larson, Principal of Burr Elementary School, Brienne Whidden, Principal of Killingworth Elementary School, Dennis Reed, Curriculum Coordinators, Heather Rigatti and Jennifer Beermuender, and Board Clerk, Jamie Sciascia

Visitors: Approximately 30

The Board meetings are videotaped and posted on the RSD17 Website under Board of Education, BOE Meeting Schedules & Minutes for public viewing.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1VV2riq6BlWrU9IyiwMrGsG10A5vP4020

**Call to Order/Opening of Meeting:** Board of Education Chair, Suzanne Sack, called the meeting to order at 5:32 PM. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

#### **Recognition Ceremonies:**

**A.** Recognition of Haddam-Killingworth High School's Top Ten Students of the Class of 2020: Superintendent Dr. Holly Hageman presented the Top Ten Students of the Class of 2020 as follows:

No. 10: Kaitlin Crandall of Higganum

No. 9: Luke Lamontagne of Higganum

No. 8: Olivia Herrmann of Killingworth

No. 7: Fijare Plous of Higganum

No. 6: Lauren Miller of Killingworth

No. 5: Schuyler Dragoo of Haddam

No. 4: Michael O'Toole of Killingworth

No. 3: Elijah Houlton of Higganum

No. 2: Zachary Houlton of Higganum, Salutatorian

No. 1: Arjun Badami of Higganum, Valedictorian

#### **B.** Recognition of District Retirees:

1. Eileen Mills, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, presented by Principal Eric Larson and Former Principal of Burr District Elementary School, Robert Smalley

- 2. Patricia Zeidler, of Burr District Elementary School, presented by Principal Brienne Whidden
- 3. Nancy Chase, of Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 4. Cindy Klein, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate/Middle School, presented by Superintendent Dr. Holly Hageman
- Gary Shepherd, of Central Office, presented by Superintendent Dr. Holly Hageman 5.

### C. Recognition of Staff Members of the Year:

- Steve Miller, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna 1. Havward
- 2. Nancy Chase, of Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 3. Heather Lonergan of Burr District Elementary School, presented by Principal Brienne
- 4. Caryn Luneau, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, presented by Principal Eric Larson
- Susan Hammar, of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, presented by Principal Dolores 5.
- 6. Beth LiPuma, of Central Office, was named District Staff Member of the Year, presented by Dr. Kris Lindsay

#### D. Recognition of District Teachers of the Year:

- 1. Carlye Kohs, of Haddam-Killingworth High School, presented by Principal Donna Hayward
- 2. Tara Brinkman, of Haddam-Killingworth Intermediate School, presented by Principal Eric Larson
- 3. Kim Brustman, of Killingworth Elementary School, presented by Principal Dennis Reed
- 4. Chris Snow, of Burr District Elementary School, presented by Principal Brienne Whidden
- 5. Paige Callahan, of Haddam-Killingworth Middle School, was named Regional School District No. 17 Teacher of the Year, presented by Principal Dolores Bates

# Adjournment.

Board of Education Chair, Suzanne Sack, called for the meeting to adjourn at 7:07 PM.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Jamie Sciascia	
Board Clerk	
Approval:	Date:
Jennifer	Favalora, Secretary